I Like Me Some Clothes… Steez Please Part I

Growing up I always had a love for clothes…

(1988, Tropicana)

I loved fashion & didn’t even know I loved fashion… To me, clothes were like costumes: you can wear what you want when you wanted… and by wearing what you wanted gave you the privilege to feel & think how you desire. You can wear a cape & feel like a superhero. You could wear boots & feel like a cowgirl. You could wear a dress & feel like a princess. You could wear anything & imagine who you wanted to be. My grandma was the first to realize I loved clothes. She would tell me stories about how when I was 2 years old, already I was picky about what they would put on me. She told me I always craved picking out what I was gonna wear and if they’d put me in something else I’d cry unless I was wearing what I wanted…

(1995, Universal Studios, Tampa Florida)

Yeah… I was probably a little brat… I was a little girl with a big imagination what do you expect. Anyhow… I never thought of clothes as being a ‘career’. Didn’t think of doing it as a means of getting paid. The thought never crossed my mind. When I was little I convinced myself I was either going to be a doctor or work in the advertising business.

I realized I couldn’t be a doctor because of my unsteady hands & also the fact that I couldn’t deal with having people’s lives in my hands. My hands are just a big problem I guess… but really though, I couldn’t bare to ever have to tell families or loved ones if a person had passed… nor would I have been able to be a doctor where I’d be around those less fortunate because I would just cry too much caring & wishing I could just make everyone healthy & better. I mean shit dude I cry watching movies, listening to music, staring at art, feeding the homeless, watching skateboarding, etc. Could you imagine it being a person’s life?! Being a doctor was just something I wanted to do, but knew I never could do.

As for advertising… I don’t know why I never pursued it as a career… I guess it’s because I wasn’t sure how much I’d love it, nor how much fun it’d be for me… Don’t get me wrong… I could see advertisement being a whole lot of fun, but it also depends on who you’re clients are & what products/brands/people you are advertising for. There’s always a restriction when you’re not your own boss (which is my self dilemma in knowing now what I want to do… and wanting to be a writer is as hard of a career to get into as being a civil engineer… I’ll talk more about writing later… I need more journalism classes so this I’ll get back to hahaha…) anyhow… Also… Notwithstanding the fact that my parents would have definitely disapproved of me majoring in business & marketing. Especially if my parents knew I wanted to be in advertisement… I love my parents & they’re an awesome pair of peeps, but they’re very old fashioned & traditional and anything that was even slightly related to the entertainment business was a “no-no.” They are both immigrants who moved out here for a better life for themselves & for their families. They have no knowledge as to how the entertainment & art industry works. So to them… they always felt that people were discovered & found… long story short… they disagreed with it. So I listened to what they wanted me to do and I went to college and received my AA in Civil Engineering.

I never went back to finish for my BA… My heart was lost and didn’t feel right in Civil Engineering… My parents knew I loved math, science & primarily art and felt that civil engineering was the most stable way of supporting myself, while being able to still create art & drawings. Unfortunately… I disagreed.

I hid it for as long as I could and wanted to make my parents proud… at the same time I felt a feeling of sadness because I felt my heart was missing… I cared so much about what my parents wanted me to do that I forgot to care about what my heart wanted to do… But then… my parents supported my decision…

my parents knew I loved fashion…

they knew that I loved making clothes, altering clothes, shopping for clothes…

and despite the fact that they thought I dressed a bit weird, odd or ‘ugly’ at times… they believed it was where my heart was… I then got offered an internship in costuming on an ULB SAG film and from there continued to do costuming & styling for about 3-5 years off-and-on…

(key costumer on ULB film “2084”)

(Head Costumer/Make-Up Artist on DirectTV commercial: Gunslinger)

(Key Make-Up Artist; In picture: me & the awesomest awesome voice-over talent Billy West)

(Hair/Make-Up/Costumes/Special Effects Blood I did for me & PB for Halloween 2011)

So I did it… and continue to do it when offered freelance work or to come & assist when they need extra help on sets… but again my heart wasn’t/isn’t in making costumes & clothes for others… And in spite of the fact that I love clothes, fashion wasn’t a career I ever wanted to be in… So again here I am sitting, wondering, waiting for the right time to do the right thing… The right thing being the career I want to pursue. I love fashion and believe it exudes so much of a person’s individuality, tastes, likes and delights… but still I wonder if it’s the path for me. I love it and want to be able to give back to an industry I adore, but writing really is what I want to do as a “job.” Writing is the only work I find myself wanting to work harder to achieve. Even so, the truth is I don’t care about being rich or famous or what society’s standard of being successful is known as. I want to be a writer because I love to write. I love to think. I love to imagine. I love to believe. I love to create images of moving pictures in which an audience can absorb a feeling & thought & make believe along with me… so I continue to pursue a career as a writer and who knows, maybe I’ll be the next Diablo Cody or Tina Fey or Stephanie Myer. Only time will tell… or… I might end up being the store greeter at WalMart that writes & makes clothes as a hobby… I wouldn’t mind it either… like I said being rich & famous has never, nor will it ever appeal to me… if it happens it happens… and if it doesn’t it doesn’t… but really though… I think me & Quentin Tarantino are destined to work together so that I’m really sure of. Anyhow… you’re probably thinking, “So what the f*ck does this have to do with clothes if you don’t care about clothes?!” Well I’ve come to realize that fashion is more of my hobby. I might not care for it, but I do support it. I’m a fan in fact. I like to wear it and that’s all there is to it. Nothing but the truth.

So… I’ve decided to start a “Steez Please” group of blahblahblahgs where I just talk about fashion I love & trends that I’m digging… Steez Please is pretty much anything & everything that is on a human body in which the body is unseen naked… Just like a person, fashion IS its own person. And just like a taste or pleasure of the moment, trends IS of the moment as well. Trends may change & recycle, but fashion remains the same… So this blahblahblahg is just about that… I like trendsforecasting and since I haven’t wrote anything in awhile about fashion I thought why not blahg it out hahaha… AND I’m trying to see if I could go a whole year (hopefully 2 or 3) without going shopping and just write about trends rather then have to be a hipster & wear the damn trends… It’s been over 6 months and I’m proud to say I’m not tempted at all & I didn’t even have an intervention for this addiction of mine! Woohoo!!! Anywho… Here’s a few trends that I’m digging & some that are just trends that I see:

I love that SOLID COLORS are coming into style… Everyone wears black on black, but now you’re seeing other solid colors…

(YSL)

(MENDEL)

…One of my favorite styles I’ve been dying to see come back that I’ve waited to shop for for over 10 years is the MATCHING PATTERNS OF TOPS & BOTTOMS

(TopShop)

It reminds me of the late 50’s-60’s for some reason…

Mismatched apparel has been around for quite sometime now so seeing the matching of things is new & exciting in a way…

I love that 60’s steez is paving its way back into fashion & I’m super stoked that high-water pants are coming back as well…

Not only is the 60’s coming back hard & strong… the hippie/beatnik steez is in a way collaborating with one another… floral prints are back too…

I love flowers… it represents a rebirth of happenings & resembles new beginnings… I also love how flowers can give so much culture to apparel…

The 60’s was a time where women started to become more independent… it was a time of liberation

It was a moment where self-governing was in a sense welcomed… to dress the way you wanted… to feel the way you wanted to feel… to believe what you wanted to believe… to think the way you wanted to think…

(Louis Vuitton)

(Louis Vuitton)

…also… in my opinion… black & white Oxfords are super adorable with 60’s style patterns… and although I love the matching of patterns, b&w is always a clash that seems to mesh well…

(Prada)

Cape jackets have come back in style too… and for some reason when I think of the 60’s, the first colors that always come to mind are the mix of orange tones/black/&white

the fashion of leather seems to never leave trends in my opinion… it only changes in how it’s used in patterns… even if it’s not on apparel, we always have a leather belt or leather purse that we use…

but leather is definitely being used plenty in apparel these days… a lot of leather trends are skinny leather pants, leather skirts and even leather blouses…

and leather jackets (especially motorcycle jackets)… just like the purses & belts… never goes away…

(Alexander Wang)

leather & fur is always around, but sometimes they are bolder in fashion moments more than other times… fur is definitely back… you see alot of girls wearing fur vests… it’s not my cup of tea, but if it’s yours drink it up girlfriend…

(Dsquared)

speaking about fuzzy & soft… velvet is another trend I’ve been dying to see come back… I’ve always loved velvet, but like most things in fashion… it’s gotta be in ‘season’ to feel right when you rock it ya dig…

I love velvet and I love to experiment with different fabrics, textiles & patterns…

I love to mix textiles that sometimes may not go together… sometimes the clash of fabrics brings a togetherness in trend… I am also feeling the loose fitted blouses with the different necklines & sleeves… turtlenecks tried to make it’s way… we’ll see if it makes it on time… or is it just in jail for life…

….anyhow… I love weird clothing… Like I said earlier… fashion is awesome because it’s freedom to be who you are and to express yourself at any given time…

You can be a girlie girl and if you’re in the mood to dress a bit boyish… well… you can… or if you want to dress like a stranger runway superhero… well… go ahead…

I’ve always been a big fan of layers… I love wearing layers… you could never have too many things on in my opinion…

I mean I wouldn’t want to wear it to the point of suffocation… but I do like to hide my lady lumps at times… I’m shy ya know… I also love long tops & jackets… I’m so happy that long skirts/dresses have been back in fashion for a few years now too… I’m short with a big head so wearing long bottoms that are high-waisted gives an illusion of me being a bit lengthier… it’s also why I’m ecstatic that wide leg pants have come back as well… I like the harem pants too…

Fashion can be very strange sometimes… especially on the runway…

I love that pastel colors have come back into fashion… I’ve been kinda obsessed with pastel colors for the past 3 seasons and although the goth in me never wants me to wear bright colors… speaking of bright… there is a difference between bright & light… pastels aren’t really bright… pastels are more light… it brings a little chipper to your mood without being too loud… I love the patterns too… especially the pattern the 3rd model is wearing in the above picture… but one trend I’m not really feeling is the solid bright jeans

Bright colored jeans remind me too much of that emo-era that we had at the beginning of the Millenium… they’re not ugly, they’re just not what I’m feeling at the moment… The above colors aren’t too bad… I actually like the peach jeans & if the pink ones were more of a faded baby pink then maybe I’d wear it… never say never…

(I don’t mind the above pants actually… on men… ugh, nuh… but on chicks it’s cute… the above are more dress pants & metallic leggings rather than bright jeans)

 anyhow… so ya… runway fashion can be very eclectic…

The distinct shoulder pad look has come back in a modern more futuristic appeal… The combination of metallics & odd/new cut & sew patterns brings something different to the table… whether it’ll recycle or be re-used… that we will have to wait & see… I would continue with a few other things I like or don’t like or the ‘fashion pyschy’ in me believes in… but this shit is already long & saying I don’t care about fashion & writing such a long blahg on fashion kinda makes me a hipocrit… fuck… I’ll stop now… but hey who knows… maybe I’ll write a book on fashion… you. never. know.

{Note: if you have any trendsforecasting questions or inquiries or thoughts feel free to comment or email}

Leave a Reply

