Irks: (Part 2) “Help! I’ve fallen into the Bandwagon and I can’t get up!”

Sometimes I ask myself, “where are you going brain?!” …Duuuh. I know it’s in my head… I think… I’m pretty sure… I guess… That seems right… but when I find it I wonder why the farfegnugen did it go there. It gets to this point of no return… like it’s stuck in LA traffic or something & can’t seem to just drive safely. It wants to road rage you can say… and so what’s my brain irked its way into?! Bandwagons.

The Los Angeles Kings won the Stanley Cup for the first time after 45 years of a poignant struggle to get back into the championships… this is real dawg… …being stoked, happy, proud & excited for the Kings seems to be a disapproval by some… Why you ask? I don’t know… and I’m pretty sure they don’t know either… I guess the biggest excuse for the disconcerted is that they believe that people are lying to themselves about sincerely being pleased for the win due to “bandwagonism: the belief that people have jumped on the unison of harmony for selfish reasons; to be a clash of the clash so the clash can clash it”…I don’t know what the big deal is, but I guess it’s almost like an abomination to some… why is it so erratic that I’m excited to have that big silver cup thingy in Los Angeles?!

… maybe it’s cuz I just called it a big silvery cup thingy or I guess it’s cuz’ of that question in the latter… or maybe because I haven’t said anything about hockey in years and also the fact that I don’t follow the sport like diehard sports/hockey fans do… anyhow… I watch {some} sports… and just because the Lakers didn’t make it into the finals doesn’t mean I’m not gonna watch Kevin Durant & Derek Fisher kill it on the court… well with Heat having a 3 game lead… eeek! I guess I’ll have to see if they kill em or if they just pinch Miami’s arm… hopefully murder! (Come on OKC let’s do this!!!) anywho… I like the sport. Not just a specific team [though I am rooting for Fisher’s 6th ring… I wouldn’t be surprised to see LBJ get his first ring… fuuuck… I don’t know who I really want to win… more OKC than Heat, but really I’m a Lakers fan so… wait I’m going way off subject… nevermind… wait, what was I talking about?!] oh yeah… bandwagons… of course when you’re watching any type of competition you eventually take a side because it makes the anticipation of a win that much more entertaining… being from Los Angeles & growing up in a family full of die hard sports fanatics (mostly girls ironically), I can’t help but be happy for the conclusion of the Stanley Cup. I haven’t wholeheartedly watched hockey since I was a kid (and that’s excluding The Mighty Ducks movies)… but knowing that the Los Angeles Kings were striving to win the Stanley Cup for the first time ever, I wanted to be able to partake in history in the making (watching & being stimulated in my opinion counts). I was born in Los Angeles. I was raised in Los Angeles. And by golly I’m gonna root for Los Angeles. Why not right?! It’s like “Hatfields & McCoys”… they just believe their turf is eminent. They’re proud. I am too…

…and yet all over Twitter (well mine atleast…) there were people so protective of the win. It’s as if only die-hard hockey fans were allowed to speak of such a win. One guy (who I still think is awesome), was making fun of us Bandwagoners… but to his defense, why not?! He also went on to say that LA has the most groups of bandwagoners and I agree in some aspects… I feel that the Western culture is the most neoteric as well as is the flagrant of all places… and that gives bandwagoning a new technique… again this is just an opinion… I’m a very honest & truthful person… I like to say how I feel & sometimes I don’t think about what I say… but despite the fact that I may speak some outlandish thoughts, I am very much able to freely tell the truth about myself. So yes, I did jump on the bandwagon during the Stanley Cup finals.

…I am all about bandwagonism. If you disagree go right ahead I respect your decision, but I believe it’s better to tell the truth about such things than say all of a sudden how you’ve been a fan forever & that you grew up loving this & knowing about that… why lie to yourself it just doesn’t make sense…

…I mean… If you were a fan when you were little & your interests or hobbies for something started to crumble, it doesn’t mean that you can’t put the pieces back together & rebuild your love for something again… so bandwagonism isn’t my irk. I guess what irks me is people that just take such offense to such reborn enthusiasts… and not just those people, but people that have to find some way to make themselves feel much superior to others by attaching themselves to the primary counterparts. Why is that?!

…for instance… I was hanging out with this one person… the funny thing about this person is that every time we hang out “they” have to find a way to explain how they knew this before anyone else… or that “they” did this before anyone started doing it… that “they” started wearing this before that person… that “they” love this thing when no one else did & now all of a sudden everyone does & maybe at one point “they” secretly didn’t either… and yet that same person does only things that seem to be the popular thing to do & doesn’t seem to care for any underdogs… I love that person dearly but shit like that makes me laugh… I respect those that do things for the love of doing such things, but why is it that you have to tell me that you heard a song & put it on your ipod before anyone else did??? do you know for a fact you were the first??? were you there when they created whatever thing it is that you’re claiming you were first in line of??? why tell me that you “liked” the song when there was only ~400 people & now there’s over ~100,000 people that like it? I don’t get it. I mean that’s cool & kudos for you that you discovered them before they became a well-known group, but does that mean I’m suppose to bow down to you now??! …sometimes I feel like that’s what “they” want me to do… it really does feel that way every time I encounter this person… maybe I’m just being a little cunt (yes I’m a bitchass cunt at times I’ll admit), but it’s like they’re purposely a badger…

…it’s like the Black Keys. I never knew anything about them… and my friends Deja, Oweenski, Bean & Steve-the-Boweve were all about them a few years back before I even heard them on the radio or ever seen anything about them… and no, they’re not badgers. They’re actually the shit… and not the pieces type. They’re the shit that don’t stink cuz’ they’re so cool that there’s no stench but awesomeness that arises from them… they like good music… they know good music… I wouldn’t lie to myself & to others and say that I discovered them on my own… I give credit where credit is deserved… I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that… I don’t think it makes me less of a human being for not knowing such things first… and for me, although I like the Black Keys… would I say I’m a fan?! eh…not really. I like a bunch of their songs, but have I heard all their music?! no. Do I crave hearing their songs?! not really. Is it my favorite type of music?! I don’t have a fully complete favorite plus it depends on my mood but I don’t know enough of their songs to know exactly they’re complete style & sound so no. Do I think they’re the best band out there?! Bad Religion, Patti Smith, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Fiona Apple, Jack Johnson, Bjork, Danzig, Tiger Army, Rancid, TSOL, Wanda Jackson, Motorhead, Jack White, Slayer, Ben Harper, Pixies, etc… still perform right?! so uggh, no… not yet? Do I think they suck?! fuck no that’d make me dense when it came to music then… but I won’t jump on that bandwagon until I know the truth & nothing, but the truth… meaning… I won’t say I like, like-em-ish, hate, love or am a fan until I really give them a full chance (…and at this time… I’m trying to catch up on some old music I like that I haven’t heard in a long time so I haven’t had the chance to really listen to them… when I’m craving some Black Keys-ish music… then I’ll check em out)… but to be honest… I have no interest to check more songs out… yet, I should say… I think they’re superbly talented and have great songs from the ones I’ve heard… but I can’t say I know enough about them to really say I’m a fan… and if & when I take the time to listen to them & possibly come to the conclusion that I really like them or just like they’re hits and crave listening to them, then I can’t say yes I’m a fan and that I’ve jumped onto the bandwagon but until then… but if I do end up liking all of their stuff… then I could say yes, yes I have jumped on the bandwagon & I confess that that is the truth & nothing but the truth… so is bandwagonism wrong?! should we hate on people that don’t have any strong opinions on such subjects good or bad?! hmmm… I don’t know what do you think????

…so to me I don’t think there’s anything wrong about liking something late or out-of-date. Individuality is important to me & if you’re honest with yourself & with others then that’s all that matters… the most important thing is to be you… whether people love it or hate it it doesn’t matter if you’re heart is in the right place… if you’re not harming anyone nor trying to be evil towards others then you’re doing nothing but being an individual… not that evil fuckers aren’t individuals but you get my drift yeah?! …there’s no competition needed in human encountering… unless you’re in a court, ring, wearing a jersey, on family feud, or even ninja warrior… well… you get it… we’re not a sport… although some may think that life is a competition… I don’t… I believe if you’re happy with who you are & respect others for being who they are then there’s nothing wrong with that…

…I have a pet peeve when it comes to people that are competitive… I don’t like it… at all… I mean I’ll admit… I get jealous… I envy other people & their success, but do I despise them for being great at what they do?! no. Do I have animosity towards them because they’re more successful than I?! no fucking way that’d be stupid of me… Do I hate girls that are prettier than me?! no but I’m jealous in the nicest way possible. Does it bum me out because there’s people my age out there that live a grander life than I?! no it doesn’t phase me why should it I’m me their them… Do I get jealous & envious of people that are more talented than me?! yeah… but it just motivates me more to want to express who I am and who I’d like myself to be. Do I get angry that people are happy when I’m sad or mad?! that would be ridiculous & I would punch myself in the face if that were ever the case… I’m happy for them & wouldn’t think anything negative about it… nor would I wish any execrable happenings on them… that would just make me a hater for no apparent reason… I guess that’s why bandwagons aren’t a bad thing in my opinion… in a sense… bandwagons are like those people that prove that what others are doing first is just as wonderful when done second… because if not… that’d mean that “first the worse…second the best” is the right saying but we know that’s not true… how could zero be the hero if the zero would mean that nothing is the deity??? well maybe… but if that were the case… then that would mean nothing is better than the first & the bandwagoners… and we know in life that’d be no fun… and what would be the purpose of life if we were here to feel, do and/or think of nothing?! we’re here for something… and to me… that is to just jump on the bandwagon of life… enjoy it… cuz everyone else is… or at least trying to too… it’s okay in my opinion to be wrong sometimes… just as long as you’re partaking in life then it’s all goooood…

…it’s funny though… people should jump on bandwagons, but only if you have a valid reason to do so… when the whole Kony thing was happening I had no clue what it was about… I just kept seeing people retweet “Invisible Children foundation…Kony blahblahblah…take a stand & help Invisible Children…Kony yadayadayada…” I didn’t take a stand at first… well I haven’t taken a stand at all… (I’m focused on Skid-Row for the time being until I could afford to focus on more philanthropies…) but anyhow… I had no idea what it was about so I couldn’t jump on its bandwagon & ride with it because I didn’t even look to hitch a ride yet… then when I did read about it I couldn’t make a decision whether I was for it or if I was against it… because the whole Kony thing was to fight against this warlord named Joseph Kony & to take down his whole army because he was kidnapping children & taking them hostage to use for his purposes in becoming more powerful in one part of Africa… which at first sounded like the right thing to do… but then… as I did some more research I heard opposing takes on the whole foundation that said that Invisible Children were using other destructive troops that were also corrupt… so in this case there was no point of me jumping on either bandwagons… the two bandwagons being: one for Invisible Children & the other against Invisible Children… see… so sometimes… you shouldn’t take a stance on such matters unless you can fully discern what is right & what is wrong… so for such things… just don’t ride the bandwagon just cuz’…

…I hope you’re not as pissed as the little cartoon dude above… I’m just freely speaking about shit that crosses my mind… I’m not saying I’m right… I’m just typing out loud… and if you don’t like it… it’s cool… no worries… like I said… I can’t hate on individuality… but please… don’t ever listen to what others tell you to think… do you… be you… feel you… ya feel me???

[NOTE: there’s different bros in this world & different definitions… the bros I’m talking about in this are those bros that like to fight for no reason & talk shit & be mean just for kicks] …so don’t listen to those type of bros… they’re the biggest haters… no matter what you do… they’ll want you to do the other… they live to fight… that is their hobby… trust me… I had this white power guy who I went to highschool with kick me because I was friendly & said hi to some people I knew he was with… he shoved me into a bush after just so he could laugh & feel special… see… you can’t win with those bros… [NOTE: not all bros are white power fuckheads… unfortunately just some from my hometown]… there’s too many bros that want to make fun of people & tease others just for their own entertainment… it’s fucking lame… they don’t like it if you’re yourself… and unfortunately for those bros, they can’t even decide for themselves what is right & what is wrong… everything just seems to always be wrong to them…

…people forget that individuality isn’t a crime… sometimes being in the majority or up-to-date with what is popular is a way for some pessimists to find a way to be cynical to everyone… that’s just the way it is… they don’t want to be in the majority… yet they want to engage in the popularity… they won’t admit it… but they’ll definitely hate on it and join in on what’s being talked about…

…and then there are those who hate on those that don’t know every single detail of the history of things that are popular… for instance… those that jump on the bandwagon on a good movie or good book… or bad movie & bad book… either way… is it wrong for someone that doesn’t read books to see a movie based on a book?! ugggh, in my opinion nah… duh… isn’t that the reason they made it into a movie?! so that those that don’t read can watch??? and for those that read… so they can watch the movie afterwards to see if the movie was how they imagined it while reading the book?! I mean come on now what’s wrong with that yo… entertainment is entertainment… it’s different for each person… I mean I like to read but I read slow as phunk ‘cuz my ADD is way too much of a nuisance for such activities but even so I like to read… but I looove movies… so is it a crime if I watched Harry Potter before I read the books?! I hope not… but again to some… maybe it is…

…and yet I believe there are such bandwagons that I feel we should all jump on… like recycling, reducing & reusing… we should all be on that bandwagon… and if you’re not down for mothernature, then I guess our bandwagon will just have to run over your ass… jokes… but come on now… mothernature is dope… love her… she loves us… most days at least… and again…

…because bandwagons are all about togetherness… finding opportunities for us human beings to become one… to be in sync with this world & how to live as individuals yet discover a commonplace of love, closeness, fellowship, affection and/or a wagon full of sharing & caring… so in my opinion… bandwagons of all sorts are nothing but a driving force that moves us towards a road of peace & harmony… we each are still one… but we each are invited into acceptance… its a band of loving music & wagon pushing us towards collective happiness…

…and if I don’t make sense… then you’re probably right, I don’t… (not sure which bandwagon I’m on yet for this blah’g… is this bandwagon blah’g nonsensical or informative??? not sure)… moral of this blah’g is that hockey, Los Angeles, music and bandwagons are awesome… and white power bros from my town could suck it… so now… go watch “The Mighty Ducks”…and yes… it was one of my favorite movies growing up… and I’m not saying that ‘cuz of the Los Angeles Kings’ win… I really used to pretend I was Adam Banks & @kissteenie was Charlie Conway… like I said, I grew up in family full of diehard sports geeks… and that’s just the bandwagon I was born into…

…so if my irk just annoyed the shit outta you… my bad… just blahblahblah’ging… to end this blah’g a stupid joke… enjoy…


hahaha… stupidly chucklish…and remember… I love you all… no matter what bandwagon you cruise in… or don’t cruise in… werd.

Leave a Reply

