End of Watch

end-of-watch-movie-photo-14-1024x731

I love movies.

I appreciate all film whether it’s good or bad because as easy as it may be to watch a movie and say, “I could have made a better movie than that…why would they even make that it sucked…” or “I have an idea…I should write it and I could sell it to a studio or make a novel!!!” in actuality it’s very very very difficult to write one up, let alone a satisfying one.

Having an idea for a story is completely different from creating an outline for a story. That’s why no matter what happens in a movie whether poorly outlined or completely mind-blowing I respect the creativity and demonstration of an idea brought to life.

Most recently I watched the film, “End of Watch.” The story follows two police officers who are longtime partners and friends. The two men encounter criminals in which they’re accustomed to but everyday is different.

So you might like it if:

  • You’re into police officer type movies
  • You like Jake Gyllenhaal and/or Michael Pena
  • You want to watch something out of the ordinary that you don’t necessarily think is that out of the ordinary but you want it to be an unordinary day so watching a movie you haven’t seen counts as out of the ordinary
  • You want to be more openminded when it comes to cops
  • You’re a writer that likes crime dramas & good story lines and are looking for some inspiration
  • You want to see something that makes you happy, sad, nervous, hopeful, fearful and then whatever else you might just feel ‘cuz we’re different people
  • You love the show “Cops”
  • You’re bored
  • You want to be entertained
  • You can’t figure out what to watch on Netflix and none of your friends are texting back recommendations on what to watch
  • You can’t fall asleep, but you don’t want to watch something scary

B3RNTR33 GRADE: A

B3RNTR33 ENTHUSIASM (on a scale of 1-10): 9

(1 being: You wish you could take back the time you wasted watching & listening to stinky poop-poops full of frivilous annoyances -AND- 10: You wanted to cry, jump up & down, laugh, punch someone in the face ‘cuz you don’t know why your so excited & stoked )

B3RNTR33 AUDIENCE VIEWER ENJOYMENT TYPE: I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. This movie was entertaining from beginning to end. It kept my mind focused on the story and I didn’t feel like missing a beat or going to the bathroom to pee (sometimes when I can’t tune-in with what is happening in a movie I take like a bathroom break, a water break and then start to pull out my notepad to jot my own stuff down…sorry “The Necessary Death of Charlie Countrymen”, your story was one of those but either way, I still respect you). Anyhow… in “End of Watch,” there is just enough action to keep it action-packed yet it wasn’t just an action movie where the story is just the action and nothing but action. There is a rooted moral and story that kept my mind engaged throughout the entire film.

Synopsis: Police partners Brian Taylor and Mike Zavala patrol the streets of Los Angeles county and encounter some usual and unusual suspects. 

B3RNTR33′s take on the movie: I really enjoy different perspectives. This movie did not necessarily have a different perspective in what I would perceive would be in the lives of a police officer, but the way the movie is shot and the way in which the writer and director tells this particular story is distinct. The construction and creativity that is used in this film is very much original. I especially love Michael Pena and Jake Gyllenhaal in this movie. I was never a huge fan of Jake Gyllenhaal, but in this movie I really couldn’t help it but be fond of & adore the two characters. This movie actually made me a fan of Jake Gyllenhaal… (it’s weird how a character or movie can create this kindred emotion to a fictional being, but somehow it does for me every once in a while). Michael Pena is always awesome (I might be bias because he skateboards too). Pena & Gyllenhaal are such a strong duo. The chemistry and relationship between the two comes to life in such a way that you feel this connection with them and a regard for what they do. There’s such a great partnership with the two of them in this film that I couldn’t and wouldn’t want to see any other two actors play the two roles. The storyline is made simple so it’s very easy to follow, but the way the story is laid out is exceptional. I might have just been having a good day or something, but in my opinion it’s one of the best cop-type movies I’ve seen in awhile.

 

Leave a Reply

