Band Aid

Band Aid - Still 1

Sometimes, some things are just… kismet. Watching the movie Band Aid was a splendidly serendipitous night. It was meant to happen. It was meant to be. And I’m so happy about it. What a wonderful treat.

That night, PB had some guy friends meet up at our house before heading out to see the band Highly Suspect  at the The Fonda Theatre. PB invited me to tag along, but it was a “guys night.” Although I’m a feminist in my own definitive way, going out on a guys night with the guys proves that ‘guys nights’ don’t necessarily mean just for a group of guys…or should it? Does that defeat the purpose of calling it a ‘guys night’?! Is that sexist of me for assuming males and females should not have nights out only of that particular sex? That’s all for another blahg rant I suppose… I didn’t want to go out with the guys and I wanted the guys to just be with the guys. Why ruin their night of fully retained machismo? I didn’t want my estrogen to mess with their testosterone. I wanted them to have fun. I wanted them to rock out with their cocks out…actually I take back that latter. Please keep the cocks in their appropriate ballparks…get it?! Okay stupid joke, I’ll stop this tangent and go straight back into why I’m writing this blah-blah-blog: Band Aid.

After the boys and I decided to go our separate ways that night…(I’m making it sound like a break-up…it wasn’t…we all still get along just fine), I looked up movie times at Arclight Hollywood to see what was playing. Wonder Woman had come out the same weekend, but that had to be saved for another night I like to call “fangeek night” with the PB.  So… since I was saving Wonder Women for the following night, I decided to watch Band Aid.

I didn’t know too much about Band Aid. I read an article about summer movie releases and Band Aid had come up as as a June release. I read the synopsis and was interested in watching the movie, but since movies have become an expensive treat, I didn’t know if it would have to be a movie I would have to wait to watch at a later date due to financial difficulties (i.e. fangeek budgeted expenses per movies, comic books, concerts and live comedy shows). WellI chose to live on the edge that night and spend my hard earned cash on going to see Band Aid, even though I had just bought four new tires for my car. I deserved to buy myself a solo date right?! YOLO.

So fuckin’ happy I did. I had found a new thing to fangeek on.

You might like it if:

  • You’re into indie films or romance comedies or wanna start getting into indie films and romance comedies
  • You like good music and want to discover new bands (PLEASE ZOE LISTER-JONES, ADAM PALLY & FRED ARMISEN OFFICIALLY BE A BAND!!! Too good to not be…)
  • You’re not into romance comedies or indie films, but want to be more open minded and supportive of the plethora of films and not disregard movies that aren’t blockbusters
  • You want to support a movie that was made with an entire female crew (true fact)
  • You’re smart and by that I mean are (or will be) fans of Zoe Lister-Jones & Adam Pally
  • You’re in a relationship that you think is failing or succeeding and need a reality check that relationships all have a commonality in which we call “fights”
  • You want to hear great melodies to good music with a sense of humor in the lyrics
  • You like stoner comedies (‘cuz it’s a stoner movie in a sense that the couple in the movie are in fact big time potheads…which is pretty cute in a sober way)
  • You like entertaining stuff and want to be entertained by some stuff

B3RNTR33 GRADE: A

B3RNTR33 ENTHUSIASM (on a scale of 1-10): 9

(1 being: You wish you could take back the time you wasted watching & listening to stinky poop-poops full of frivilous annoyances -AND- 10: You wanted to cry, jump up & down, laugh, punch someone in the face ‘cuz you don’t know why your so excited & stoked )

B3RNTR33 AUDIENCE VIEWER ENJOYMENT TYPE: I didn’t know what to expect going into the movie. As I’ve said, I’m not really a big romance comedy fan but there are exceptions. I’m not a “big” fan where I have to watch it on opening weekend, but there are some I truly love. Who doesn’t love There’s Something about Mary or 50 First Dates or Clueless or Forgetting Sarah Marshall or My Best Friend’s Wedding? The list goes on… Band Aid can now be included on the list of great romance comedies.

The movie’s pacing keeps the audience engaged. When the music is played in certain scenes it almost gives the illusion of watching a music video because the songs are that good! The story line is interesting and informs the audience, as it is known by most (or all), that couples fight…even over the most minuscule things. Fred Armisen is amazingly wonderful as well and a delight to watch as the character he plays cannot be played by anyone else in the same way. Armisen’s backstory offers an eclectic sense of humor which is both sweet & sour. Going into the film knowing nothing about Zoe Lister-Jones or Adam Pally, I thought they were a couple in real life. The chemistry between the two were utterly adorable. I’ve officially joined the Zoe & Adam fan club! Not officially but yes, I am now a fan. Both men and women will love the film because some of the dialogue just hits reality for most couples, unfortunately. It keeps it real and isn’t really unfortunate.

I left the movie theater unable to stop talking about the movie and haven’t stopped since. I actually just finished telling someone about it before I typed this sentence.

Also a treat, was that I got to see a Q&A with Zoe Lister-Jones, Adam Pally, Brooklyn Decker, Majandra Delfino and was moderated by Busy Phillips. I didn’t even know there was a Q&A until the credits came up at the end and no one left their seat. It was great to hear what they had about the movie. Check out their music video too!

Synopsis: After repetitious fights, a married couple decide putting their arguments behind lyrics & melodies and start a band together.

B3RNTR33′s take on the movie: The reason I loved Band Aid is because it was unlike any romance comedy made and yet was not out of the norm. It wasn’t the same story where the main character just got cheated on or can’t find love and all of sudden meets this person who changes their perspective after bumping into them a few times or because one continues to persist finally making the other person realize they are in love and meant to be together. It was familiar, but different.

The movie proves true that most couples DO struggle with where they are in life both as a couple as well as individually with what they need for themselves. The dynamic was amazing. It put perspective into what I think majority of those in relationships forget and that is that ALL relationships need WORK for a relationship TO WORK. It’s not always a bed of roses.

What I think I loved most about Band Aid is the music. Oh-me-oh-my, the music. I love music. Actually…I fuckin’ looove music. The music was so artistic with such fun beats you cannot help but want to listen to the soundtrack on repeat. It was like a musical without being a musical. They didn’t break into song, but kinda did in their own non-musical show way.

I take back the ‘loved the most about Band Aid is the music’ because I loved the entire film. I am so stoked to have randomly went to  watch Band Aid because I knew nothing about Zoe Lister-Jones or Adam Pally, whom by the way, I’m huge fans of now. Zoe Lister-Jones is truly inspiring. Her talent as a director, writer, musician, artist, the list goes on…is admirable. It’s wonderful to see such remarkable people proving that passion can be spread throughout all parts of life including music, film and art. That you don’t necessarily have to hone in on just one passion.

After watching the movie, I couldn’t help but to tell everyone about it. I am a free walking advertisement and still am.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

